Tarp
    CCH 11ft Tarp/door
    Insulation
    CCH 20* TQ and UQ
    Suspension
    dutch hooks clips
    Images

How Long Do Hammocks And Suspension Last

Here is a newbie question. As I have been looking through the forum posts I haven't seen anyone talk about how long hammocks and suspension last. Is there a shelf life? Does the suspension wear out? Does the hammock material wear out? Or do you just monitor the condition of everything and replace things as you need to, or replace the whole unit if you get a hole for tear in it?
    This information will help me to decide whether to go new or used when I decide what I want to buy.

Jay

Hammock
    Hexon 1.6
    Tarp
    HG Cuben
    Insulation
    Phoenix, Enigma
    Suspension
    Hybrid Straps, BH
    That's a great question. I'm curious as well, since I'm also new to the hammock thing. Can you be more specific on the suspension part? Whoopie slings? Straps and buckles? Straps and Marlin spike, etc...
    RB
    https://lighterpack.com/r/axwxk6

Hammock
    WBBB XLC,HH Expedition
    Tarp
    Kelty Noah's 12
    Insulation
    HG incubator
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopies/Strap
    Hammocks and suspension generally don't get much UV degradation. Tarps are another story. Most don't leave their gear hanging for long periods. Indoor gear can last forever.. or it seems that way. BUT .. We all replace our gear LONG before it shows any sign of wear. Take care of your gear and it will take care of you.. eh???

Hammock
    WildernessLogics 12x6
    Tarp
    HG cuben 13ridge12
    Insulation
    TopQuiltUnderQuilt
    Suspension
    S and D