Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

those darn spaghetti lines

Greetings--

I'm a newbie at hammocking, having slept seven nights so far in the Clark North American that I bought in Oct 09. My main frustration is spending so much time untangling and attaching the six spaghetti lines when I'm setting up.

I've thought of using cam straps while canoe camping on rivers, but they are heavier and after awhile make one appreciate the lighter weight and more compact spaghetti lines. Recently I bought six one-inch line tensioners (the older design) for these lines and they seem to work fairly well on either end of the fly. Haven't figured out yet how they'll work on the fly. Does anyone have a suggestion?

At first I kept all these lines attached when I stuffed the hammock, but that created maximum havoc when I unpacked the hammock. Lately I've been removing all six before I stuff the hammock. I've wound the four fly lines around my fist, then placed a rubber band around them. Same with the rest of the spaghetti lines. Works fine except that when I remove the rubber bands and watch them tangle.

I suppose I might wind each spaghetti line separately, but my gosh that seems like a lot of work. Has anyone come up with a tried and true method of handling these thin lines?

BTW, I think I prefer to hang the fly separately and a few inches higher. That way, I don't get my head wet from the dew collected on the fly's underside when I arise plus I don't have to deal with a twisted and tangled fly when I unpack the hammock. Of course this has meant adding two more spaghetti lines to hold up the netting. Is there anyone with experience who'd comment on this method?

Dave in Kansas

Hammock
    Molly Mac Gear
    Images
    Someone posted in another thread about some little bags sewn to the tarp, into which you roll a coiled tarp line...

???
    - MacEntyre
    "We must, indeed, all hang together or, most assuredly, we shall all hang separately." - Ben Franklin
    www.MollyMacGear.com