Tarp
    Waterproof
    Insulation
    Down underquilt
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images

16 degrees is cold...

I'd like to preface this by saying that I am a relative newbie at winter camping, having done a little 30 years ago in scouts, and once on the ground (snow) with my wife which was pretty miserable. Part of the reason I've avoided cold weather is because I am a cold sleeper. I decided this year that I am tired of having to wait until spring to get outside, so I started acquiring new gear. Just got the final piece of gear I needed for cold weather this week--a GoLite 0 degree bag, and temps last night were predicted for 22 degrees, clear, with no wind. Perfect night for testing!

I set up in 26 degree weather wearing my JRB down sleeves, down vest, and snow pants with only a light base layer underneath, powerstretch balaclava with wool beanie, and homemade wrist warmers. I was very comfortable the whole time.

I hung my hammock with my new Te-wa Winter Coat underneath, my bag on top with my feet/legs on a blue pad. No tarp as the weather was so nice. I used a poly-fill pillow for my head and used the vest under my knees. Inside the bag I only wore the light synthetic base layer, wool socks, balaclava, beanie, and wrist warmers, and drifted warmly off to sleep. The only issue was getting the UQ positioned just right--I think my shoulders are too wide for this quilt, but I'm still playing with it.

I woke up around midnight sweating, and had to figure out the best way to vent without freezing part of me. It was 21 degrees. Got it worked out and went back to sleep.