DIY Bridge
    Tarp
    DIY 13' Winter
    Insulation
    DIY TQ/Pad
    Suspension
    Straps n Whoopies

VIDEO: Flat Tops Trip - June, 2016

Howdy, gang! My cousin Andrew and I have been camping together for over 20 years and took another exciting adventure earlier this month to the Flat Tops Wilderness near Steamboat Springs/Yampa, CO. Part of the adventure was just getting there. Andrew lives near Steamboat (in Stagecoach) and was going to pick me up at the airport in Denver. Long story short (and an adventure unto itself!) I arrived at his condo 16 hours late. However, kudos to Southwest Airlines for handling a very tough night with class and great customer service. In fact, as we pulled into the gate at DIA, the captain said, "Well, ladies and gentlemen...tonight was epic!" Just the words you want to hear from the flight deck!

We hit the trail early the next morning and headed south toward Bailey Lakes from Stillwater Reservoir (accessible via Yampa, CO). We camped on a pretty heavily used spot, complete with remnants from at least one horse camp...beer cans, a coffee can, a Spyderco knife, two fire grates, three fire areas, a bunch of firewood, some paracord, a mason's jar, and enough manure to power a small town. However, it was beautiful, and not hard to see why it is a popular site.