Tarp
    Superfly, Hen. Hex
    Insulation
    DIY Full UQ and TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images

New New Virgin New

Hey everyone I'm JJ. Im new to a lot of things. I have very little experience hiking. I have not done any backpacking. I don't have any backpacking equipment. And I've never joined or posted on a forum. I do have a decent knowledge of the woods, and survival skills, and I've done tons of camping out of a tent and hunting. That being said I'm absolutely dieing to get all the equipment I need and start backpacking. I'm definitely wanting to try a hammock as Ive done tents my whole life and well mehhh they are ok. But I love the advantages of the hammock now that I'm starting to reasearch them. My issues are that im a bigger guy 6'3" and about 250lbs. So I am looking for a good hammock, bug net, tarp, full length under and over quilts, while I'm not looking for cheap I also would like to stay under $600 hopefully less (for the hammock setup. hammock, net, quilts, suspention, etc..). But I dont know what things to look for as I have no experience.
    Last edited by Jay Jay; 08-16-2016 at 12:09.

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Lynx or Pads
    Suspension
    Straps and Biners
    Images
    Welcome.....hit up YouTube and search for "Shug". Watch all his videos. These will answer lots and lots of questions and probably spawn quite a few.

Once you do that you can check out the "sticky" subjects here on the forums. Look through the various areas: insulation, weather protection, etc. The "Sticky" posts are where a lot of the distilled wisdom ends up being placed for new and old alike. These should show up at the top of the list in each section.