Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

New Underquilt Build (Suggestions Welcome)

This is my first time sewing much of anything so any suggestions for this fabric would be appreciated.

I will start out with my numbers in the spreadsheet. Does anyone see anything wrong with this? The top seems are extra long so I can make the channel. I am going to use the clew suspension so I wont put in side channels for now.

MZ2zjew.jpg

I am going to get a pattern drawn up and I will get that posted up shortly.
    Last edited by onesojourner; 02-20-2017 at 16:46. Reason: Updated to latest spreadsheet

Hammock
    DIY GE
    Insulation
    Down TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    DynaGlide UCRs
    I'm amidst my first down underquilt build. A couple things that determined my build specs. Having a 1" diff between baffle height and loft adds quite a bit of needed width to your outer shell. You need to aim for a total of 58" since most fabrics come in that width. Which means either making your quilt more narrow or making your finished loft a little lower, like maybe 2.7". Second, I was on the fence about side channels. You will have excess material for the inside shell that's going to be cut off and go to waste. You might as well just add the side channels in case you ever want them. It's only ~.25oz for side channels if you use a .67oz fabric like membrane 10, which is what I'm using.

Quote Originally Posted by HoosierT View Post