Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Can someone explain shear force to me?

https://theultimatehang.com/hammock-hang-calculator/

Playing around with that if you change the hang angle to 5 then the shear force ramps up to over 1000 pounds. Can some one explain (if there is a video out there even better) how this is possible?

Does this mean there is 1000 pounds of force pulling horizontally? If I had an inline scale and put it between the tree strap and the suspension would it read 1000 pounds?

Hammock
    DIY - Single Layer and Clark TX-250
    Tarp
    Hen'sy Hex, Vertex
    Insulation
    AHE Jarbidge
    Suspension
    Varies
    I'm a structural engineer and know the answer although I think calling it shear is a bit of a misnomer. The tension in your straps is made up of two perpendicular parts which you cant see (a little hard to visualize). Its a right triangle of forces that balance out. The first acts up and down (vertical force) and the second acts in a horizontal direction (horizontal force) and pulls in on the trees. When you reduce the hang angle to 5 degrees the horizontal force gets huge quickly. The vertical force always remains about half of your weight. Its ABOUT half because you probably aren't right in the middle of your hammock and probably aren't exactly half way between the trees. The tension in the strap (called the resultant force) is the square root of the sum of the squares of the vertical and horizontal forces (Pythagorean formula). If you put a scale on the strap it would be measuring the resultant force.

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY
    Insulation
    DIY
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by onesojourner View Post
    https://theultimatehang.com/hammock-hang-calculator/

Playing around with that if you change the hang angle to 5 then the shear force ramps up to over 1000 pounds. Can some one explain (if there is a video out there even better) how this is possible?