Tarp
    12' Trail Haven
    Insulation
    Greylock, EE Revel
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings

Isle Royale (MI) 5/28-6/9/2017

dharma Bum Trek 2017:

Quick view stats: 12 days on Isle hiking from Rock Harbor to Windigo via the Minong and back via Greenstone and other trails. 99.1 trail miles including day hike to Mt. Franklin from Rock Harbor.

5 or 6 moose sightings (I stopped counting after a while)
    6 otter sightings (all at Moskey)
    0 wolf..(did see fresh print on trail between Todd and Little Todd)
    0 fox…(was bummed about that).
    0 strawberries (a bit early for them)
    12 or so morel mushrooms found along trail on the fly

5/28 Sunday: The old truck is loaded and waiting for the 350 mile drive to Copper Harbor. I force myself to wait until a respectable 8 am before waking my wife to say goodbye; I’ve been up since 5, giddy with anticipation to start the trip which I’ve been obsessing over for at least, 6 months. This will be my 3rd visit to the Isle. The brakes went bad (pads shot on one axle) the day before...no time to fix and no other transport options so we go with it remembering to avoid situations that require hard braking; normally do that anyhow.

The drive provides good one-on-one time with my son (18). We stop across the bridge (Mackinac) in Brevort for a taste of beef sticks and a wee bit of smoked trout. It’s good, though the trout is a little dry. Watch some idiot pass us and multiple others, narrowly missing head on with oncoming traffic. US 2 is dangerous to drive, even with all the passing lanes built over the years. I,m pleased when I can jog off it to fetch her northern sister (M 28) which sees less traffic.