Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Help! Information overload!

Hammock newbie here, thanks for letting me join! Hubby and I have moved from car camping to backpacking as our kids get older. We still enjoy car camping, but backpacking is a whole different experience. That being said, I have one big problem with it...sleeping! I don't sleep well at home on a good night lol, but it's almost nonexistent on the ground. My solution? A hammock of course. The only issue is I have never even laid in a hammock until last week! I tried out a few different GE mass market hammocks at an REI class and have to say, they are very comfortable. Laying in one for a few minutes is obviously going to be much different than sleeping for the night, but I am optimistic. I'm really struggling with the choice between a GE and a bridge though. I am strictly a side sleeper, but I tend to flip back and forth between sides every couple of hours. I also usually pull my legs up too, maybe not full fetal but close. So I am concerned with the GE because I don't know if I can really flip over without changing the whole direction I'm laying. But I've also heard the bridges don't necessarily accommodate side sleeping with your legs tucked up. The weight difference is not so important to me. I would also probably start out using a sleeping pad, since I already own one. Warbonnet is at the top of my list, but I'm def waffling between the BBXLC and the RR. So in the end after weeks of research and reading, I am much better informed but still feel like I have no clue which direction to try! Oh, and we live in an outdoor wasteland here in northern Illinois so group hangs are few and far between. Okay, that was probably more than anybody wanted to read, but I would appreciate any advice or feedback. Thanks!

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images