Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: From PA

From PA

Hi all,

Newbie here from somewhere in Chester County, PA, just introducing myself since I've been lurking for a little while now.

An all around great human being recently pointed me towards hammock camping. I bought an ENO Onelink on sale and had my first hammock backpacking trip, a long weekend solo trip a couple weeks ago. Then we went on a second one together the weekend after. After the same fantastic gentleman pointed me towards this forum, I've been doing some research and now looking ahead towards upgrading some things and putting some winter gear together to keep the momentum going, for more and more frequent trips.

Can't speak for him but I've had a great couple weekends in a row and I'm definitely re-discovering my love of hiking and backpacking. This hammock thing is kind of a whole new experience and perspective, very exciting. I think just the kind of shot in the arm I've been looking for.

Have a tiny but of hiking and backpacking experience but most of that was 1.5 to 2 decades ago with the kind of Good-Will and k-mart gear one was able to get with an $8/hr job (I survived...luck of the young I suppose) so this hammock thing is all new. Most recent trips up until a couple weeks ago have just been day trip hikes or car camping. Don't get me wrong, I love a good day hike or road trip but being able to carry not just shelter but also comfort, convenience and versatility around on your back is awesome.

Guess that's about it for now, just getting a little fix in before bed so I can get up and go to work tomorrow in order to fund future hammock adventures as well as the other less fun and interesting things.

I do have an "upgrade path"sort of question, looking for some input and opinions on some things but I'll do some more reading and see if maybe there isn't a better area of the forum to post that.

Thanks, hope you are all enjoying yourselves!

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp