Tarp pole mod (exterior) vs regular lined panel pulls

Hello all. I've got a Winter Dream 13 XL on order. While I"ve been waiting for it I've been watching tons of videos and reading lots of posts about rigging a tarp. This will be my first tarp and I'm new to all this. I didn't order any pole mods but now I'm wondering if I should have. Internal end pole mods are out for me right now due to the high (extra $90) additional cost but the external double pole mod at $45 seems fairly reasonable. My question is this - those that have used these external pole mods - is it as effective at creating space as using the panel pulls in the normal way? Some of the "inside the tarp" videos I've seen really don't look like you're gaining a great amount of extra room. I'm wondering if just using a line to pull them out gives you MORE room than the pole mods? I'm going to be using this tarp over a Ridgerunner so I need all the space I can get to clear the spreader bars.

I watched this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lp1oUyup1EM

(which is the same as the tarp I'll be getting) and in his comments he mentions that he thinks the mod would be more effective if the poles were 60" rather than 55". Right now I don't see any pole kit with poles over 55". That makes me wonder if it's worth the extra money for this particular tarp. I would be interested in any opinions you all might have. Thanks.

Hammock
    Hybrid 1.7 GE, Happy Medium Bridge
    Tarp
    DIY Xenon Winter
    Insulation
    Loco Libre Gear
    Suspension
    All of them! Ugh.
    Images