gathered end dutchware
    Tarp
    hennesy hex
    Insulation
    AHE new river
    Suspension
    whoopie slings

do I truly need an uq?

I spent a lovely evening in my new traveler. I'm not a pro at setting up hammocks, but even on first hang, I was quite comfortable.

Despite 60 degree temps, I was perfectly fine in a sleeping bag without being too cold. I'm curious if my top quilt would be enough to keep me warm if I sleep this warm in general. It's a 20 degree. I got a bit chilly, but I put on a thermal layer, problem solved. I feel like a down jacket would do the same.

If not, I suppose I'd need an uq. I tried a pad in there and it was such a pain.
    So, how totally necessary is an uq? Are there other workaround besides pads/reflectix?

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    This can only be answered by you and how you plan on using your hammock and what temps you plan on hanging in. Are you planning on just day hanging or over nighting? I would say try your bag on one of these nice 60 degree days and upper 30's to mid 40's nights and you'll find our pretty quickly how comfortable you'll sleep.

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by chansta View Post
    Despite 60 degree temps, I was perfectly fine in a sleeping bag without being too cold.
    I'm guessing it was a synthetic bag, yes?
    A synthetic will not squash so much under you, and will still provide some under insulation.
    The down side is that it will not squash so much when you come to pack it away (unlike a down filled bag).
    I'm curious if my top quilt would be enough to keep me warm if I sleep this warm in general.
    Unlike your bag, the TQ will not insulate you under your butt. Being exposed to the breezes, it's gonna chill (in overnight temps below 70F).

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY SilPoly
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    Hybrid UHMWPE/MSH