Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

4 pound $150 setup I've taken to -1 fahrenheit

I've got a system that weighs a total of 4 pounds and costs less than $150, which I've taken down to -1 degree fahrenheit (-16 with wind chill) in total comfort, and I sleep extremely cold in any typical setup. It's absolutely unlike most mainstream solutions. I even took a sponge bath in sub-zero weather in it. Several years back, I wrote a full explanation and made a bunch of videos to show how it works: http://gui-tar.com/hammockforums-post-about-tubes.txt . I never published the link because I didn't feel like arguing with others about how it couldn't possibly work, but the videos are there to demonstrate my experience. I've spent more than 700 nights in everything from tents to bivies to hammocks, etc., so I have some experiences to compare. I'm getting older and have since built a camper van which my fiance enjoys traveling in with me, so I don't hammock camp much now, but the setup I linked above is far better than all the other thousands of dollars of hammock equipment I spent years collecting and testing (still own a garage full of hammock and traditional camp gear). It's quicker to set up, much lighter, much more comfortable, easier to clean and maintain, cheaper, etc.

A video posted by one of my favorite Youtubers made me think about it and want to share. Perhaps someone will find it useful.

Hammock
    DIY 10.5' HyperD 1.6
    Tarp
    Warbonnet, SLD
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    WB Straps+Buckles
    Images

I have no idea why .txt would make anyone nervous, but here's a more nicely formatted HTML version, if you prefer it

http://gui-tar.com/hammockforums-post-about-tubes.html

Hammock
    DIY 10.5' HyperD 1.6
    Tarp
    Warbonnet, SLD
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    WB Straps+Buckles
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by notchent View Post
    I have no idea why .txt would make anyone nervous