Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Moving from Hennessy Explorer Deluxe Zip to Warbonnet? Something Else?

I've been using a Hennessy Explorer Deluxe Zip for several years, and I really like it a lot, with a few things I would like to change

My son is outgrowing his Hennessy Scout, so he will be getting it as a hand me down.

Things I would like to change about the Hennessy
    • Suspension - I'd like to have a longer range between trees, and larger straps around trees. I'm thinking Whoopie Slings with long straps would be a nice upgrade from the hennessy Default suspension
    • Double Bottom Layer - I'd like the ability to use a pad underneath. I have an UQ, but I'd like to be able to double up for cold weather.
    • Larger Tarp - I'd like to have a larger tarp that can cover me more, and offer some privacy for changing. Tent Style tarp would be awesome. Might need to be a separate aftermarket purchase.

Weight/size is not a huge factor for me. If I am backpacking, its only going to be for 1-2 nights. Anything that is not a lot larger than the Hennessy I have not will be fine. (And I know a larger tarp will increase that size)

I'm trying to decide what to upgrade to. I've been looking at the Warbonnet, but I'm sure there are a few other options I should consider.

Any suggestions?

Also, if anyone has pics or an explanation of the WB shelf, I'd appreciate it.
    Last edited by CubmasterTony; 07-30-2018 at 17:08.

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair
    Tarp
    UGQ Winter Dream
    Insulation
    JRBNest, LocoLibre
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckle
    I have owned two Hennessey s, warbonnet Xlc and ridgerunner, AMOK , dream hammock sparrow and simply light design trail lair.

My SLD trail lair is my favorite and most comfortable. DH sparrow very close behind.

Images
    You don't need a double layer to use a pad. The only real reason to have a double layer is your weight.

Quote Originally Posted by OutandBack View Post