Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Under stuffed?? Help with First Top quilt - Enlightened Equipment Top quilt

Hi,

I’m new to hammock camping, and was looking for some wisdom - I just ordered my first top quilt from Enlightened Equipment. It is rated down to 40F with 950 down, 10D forest green outer shell and 7D inner.

I just received the quilt today, and upon inspection it seemed like one of the baffles was very much under filled. I tried fluffing and spreading out any clumps, but this one baffle still has entire sections that are completely empty even after dispersing any clumps/deposits.

Question at hand: Does this appear normal, and I should just work on fluffing the down more to see if that helps even it out? Or is it questionable as to whether it could be a mistake and this baffle didn’t receive the appropriate volume of down?

I know as long as it keeps me warm down to 40F that is what matters, but for the price of this quilt I also want to be confident it was built correctly.

Any thoughts or feedback would be most appreciated before I just go off and email EE over something that may be normal.

Thanks in advance the help!
    Cheers
    Mike

*Note*
    The last pic is a close up of the center/horizontal section of the same baffle that you see the 2 empty vertical sections. This part appeared very well filled in the first pic, but that is just because I didn't have a flashlight in the center, it is actually sparse as well. Not approaching empty status like the 2 adjoining sides, but certainly not filled like all the other surrounding baffles either.

Video (the last few seconds show the end segment of the baffle, which is completely empty. Any volume you see is from air, not down)
    https://youtu.be/DHvNF6X6OcI

IMG_4181.jpg
    IMG_7819.jpg
    IMG_7144.jpg
    IMG_3162.JPG
    IMG_0253.jpg
    IMG_5330.jpg
    Last edited by Hockey4496; 11-10-2018 at 15:41.