Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What underquilt temperature

I'm trying to figure out what temperature underquilt (and top quilt for that matter) I should get for winter. I have a Costco DIY UQ that I made for warmer weather. I cant decide if 20 degrees will be enough or if I should go ahead and get a 0 degree. Most of my winters will be in the nc mountains and possibly going up north to WV also.

I really like the JRB high Sierra snivvler and the mt Washington 4.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair
    Tarp
    UGQ Winter Dream
    Insulation
    Nest, HG Burrow
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckle
    I live in Georgia and do a lot of winter camping. I have a 20 degree JRB Nest with 2 oz of overstuff and a JRB 0 degree Mount Washington 4.

While I do love the MW4, it is a bit much for my climate. It is a quite lofty and takes up a lot of room in my pack.

The 20 degree Nest has taken me down to 15 degrees in total comfort.

I find the 20 degree Nest is my go to UQ in both winter and summer. In summer, I keep is loose but it is still needed even though summer lows in the Georgia mountains are only the lower-60's.

What I'm worried about is getting a 20 degree then not being able to go when the temp drops below 10 degrees. I love cold weather camping, I have just never winter camped in a hammock. My wife and I plan to do some travelling to more northern states to hike some in the winter so I want to be prepared for that. But I also dont want to buy 2 or 3 sets of quilts.

Hammock
    BBXLC
    Tarp
    UGQ winterdream 12
    Insulation
    Wooki
    Suspension
    buckles or Daisy
    Nothing wrong with using a 0 degree when lows are only in the 30's. You won't cook yourself.
    left lay born, left lay bred and when I die I'll be left lay dead.

You could always get the 20 degree and stack it with your other quilt if expecting colder temps.

Quote Originally Posted by grubbster View Post