Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Modified Speer
    Tarp
    PenTarp, by OES
    Images

Design to minimize shoulder squeeze

My current hammock (my first) is 3-yd. long. The only aspect of it that I'm less than totally happy with is the amount of shoulder squeeze. I've tried lying on a diagonal and like that even less. Just looking at the geometry it seems clear that the direct and simple way to minimize the shoulder squeeze is to get my shoulders farther away from the gathered end. (I do want to keep it direct and simple to minimize weight and to make pitching on a dark and stormy night a no-brainer.) To get my shoulders farther away from the gathered end, however, will require a longer hammock (say, 4-yd.) and lying off-center. Lying off-center will, in turn, require hanging the head-end higher than the foot end to avoid blood-rush to the head. Schematically, it would come out something like this:

Since I have zero experience with hammocks other than my current very conventional one, I'd appreciate critiques from those with more experience--just about everybody else on this extraordinarily helpful forum.
    Last edited by Graybeard; 03-15-2010 at 14:54.
    bob

Have you tried a structural ridgeline on your current setup? I have always found that gathered end hammocks without a structural ridgeline causes me to have uncomfortable shoulder squeeze. I think this is primarly related to never having the optimal tree distance and ending up with too tight of a suspension. By adding a structural ridgeline it adds more slack on the entire hammock especially the sides and I find I don't have any shoulder squeeze once I get the ridgeline length dialed in.

Depending on how tall you are a longer hammock may help as well, or even one that is wider. Your idea is interesting, it may work. I would create an interesting pocket.

DG

Hammock
    10.5' DIY
    Tarp
    11x13 DIY Sil
    Insulation
    IX UQ, Down Bag TQ
    Suspension
    DIY Dutch/Whoopie
    Images