Tarp
    WB Thunderfly
    Insulation
    HGUQ 10 | WBDB 20
    Suspension
    Marlin Sp. Whpies

Sewn vs. Zippered footbox

Hey hey hammock fam,

With the warm Summer air quickly fading from Autumn's crisp kiss, Winter and low temps aren't far from the horizon. I was able to get in on the Diamondback sale earlier this year and picked up a zippered 20F. I know this quilt won't be quite enough to last me the entire winter / coldest months here in UT, and that's what the (very heavy) 0F sleeping bag I have is for.

My question is this: Is there really such an intense difference between a Zippered footbox and a sewn? I know for 0F situations you want to keep in as much of that heat as possible, but does anyone have any experience using a quilt rated to a low temp with a zipper on it? If you have, are there any tips or tricks to keep more of the air inside rather than seeping out the zipper? I can't imagine you're losing much, but I'm relatively new to the TQ game.

If there's any other Sewn vs. Zippered commentary you have, I'd love to hear it!

Hammock
    DW Chameleon, WB Eldorado
    Tarp
    Thunder/Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 20/40
    Suspension
    DW Beetle Buckles
    Stuff something (like a rolled up pair of socks) into the hole left by a zipper footbox. Anything lower than a 20F quilt, I'd spend the extra money for sewn.

Hammock
    DW Chameleon
    Tarp
    WB Thunderfly
    Insulation
    HGUQ 10 | WBDB 20
    Suspension
    Marlin Sp. Whpies
    Quote Originally Posted by FLTurtle View Post
    Stuff something (like a rolled up pair of socks) into the hole left by a zipper footbox. Anything lower than a 20F quilt, I'd spend the extra money for sewn.
    OK, the diamondback actually has a very small ~3" x 3" down "pillow" that's attached the the bottom end with that in mind I believe. I thought that may have been standard with all zippered systems but it sounds like that's not the case.

Hammock
    Chameleon, Netless
    Tarp
    UGQ WD12, WB ThFly