Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Top quilt or under quilt first?

I'm so close to jumping off the deep end. I'm pretty decided on the Blackbird xlc. My biggest questions are should I buy an under quilt or get a top quilt and use a pad. I can get one or the other. Also which suspension would be the best to purchase with this setup?

My opinion as a newcomer to the experience, is to go for the underquilt. A pad doesn't remotely match the comfort of the underquilt, whereas you can still get similar comfort of a blanket or sleeping bag as a topquilt substitute. The pad won't wrap close to your shoulders as well, and defeats the entire "feel" and comfort that a hammock provides (the unencumbered freedom of lay without something shifting underneath you when you move around)

As for suspension choices I'm not experienced with warbonnet suspensions - but I guess my question to you is:
    What are you going to be using your hammock for most of the time? Are you backpacking a lot looking to be super light, or are you only a little concerned with weight, but want easy adjustability? Is weight not an issue?

There's a lot of suspension options out there, most of them are great, but everyone has a different opinion on what they like. I currently use whoopies with tree straps and a toggled Marlin spike. I love how easy they are too adjust, but I can run into issues with trees being too close to really get a good hang, whereas daisy chain style or cinch buckles might allow better adjustment for shorter tree distances.
    Or maybe having one daisy chain included in my kit with my whoopies so I can take one off and swap the daisy chain in when spacing is an issue.

Watch some YouTube videos on different hammock suspensions and see which one fits your style best

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

I'd pair a 20 deg Wooki with that XLC...