Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Split ridgeline knots - do you trust a taut line hitch?

I have a 11ft SLD tarp, and 2 12ft sections of Zing It for a split ridgeline. On one side, I have a taut line hitch for easy adjustment. On the other end, I have a truckers hit to get it tightened down. I just hung this setup for the first time this afternoon.

In practice, do you trust a taut line hitch using Zing It to hold under load and if wet? I have little experience with Zing It, and zero with a a taut line hitch using this line.

Any feedback would be great!

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Hammock
    DIY Hexon 1.0, Hexon 1.6
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    HG UQ's, EE TQ
    Suspension
    Dutch Mantis
    I've used it on guy lines and it held just fine. I prefer a prussik on guylines now, but not because the taut line didn't hold.

Hammock
    Chameleon/TE Happy Medium/SG
    Tarp
    Thunderfly/UGQ WD
    Insulation
    HG / LL
    Suspension
    Becket
    Images
    No personal experience with taut line hitches on tarp ridgelines, but I'm aware of a variation of the taut line hitch called the Midshipmen's hitch -- that might have slightly better holding power: https://www.animatedknots.com/midshipmans-hitch-knot

Images
    If the tautline is a backup knot, should be okay. If it's the primary knot, then not ok. I do use tautlines on guylines though.

I used a truckie hitch on both ends for a number of years (not to be confused with a truckers hitch). It's an adjustable, self-tightening, quick-tie approach you might like.

Hammock
    Raven, SLD Streamliner
    Tarp
    Hanger11WB,WntrHvn
    Insulation
    HG,UGQ,JrB
    Suspension
    UCR's
    Images
    Just use a truckers hitch both ends. Taught line hitch is for guylines, although the adjustable group hitch works much better.

https://www.animatedknots.com/adjust...rip-hitch-knot

Tie it slipped by tucking a bight (loop) in at the end.

Hammock
    WBBB, WBRR, WL LiteOwl
    Tarp