DIY Costco Under Quilt | Instructions & Overview

Hey all,

I recently repurposed a Costco Double Black Diamond down throw as an Under Quilt (UQ). Wanted to share some thoughts and findings from my experience with those that have done it and those that are looking to take this on as a project. I used this guide from Serac as a template. It's a great step-by-step. I also took a few liberties adding more down to each channel after seam ripping. I wasn't getting the loft I wanted and decided to add more down to reduce the likelihood of cold spots and give myself better odds of stretching this quilt to a 3-season option.

Before moving forward with the Costco down throw, I also looked into sewing an UQ from scratch. There are a ton of great guides out there, but I eventually went the Costco route for two reasons. 1) Supplies from scratch were coming in at ~$150 (down is expensive) and 2) I'm a novice with a sewing machine (but getting better!). I know there are cheaper synthetic fill options, but I want to keep things light as possible and am not as concerned about getting the down wet. I'm usually under a rainfly or have one close by in my pack. I intend to do another quilt in the future from scratch with proper baffling, but will save it for another day. When I do, I'm planning to work from this guide from Instructables and this YouTube tutorial.

Overall, I'm really content with how this UQ turned out. It was time well spent during COVID-19 lockdowns/quarantine and I can't communicate how much nicer this set up is for sleeping than using an inflatable pad for bottom insulation. No more shifting and tossing to keep a pad underneath me through the night. This UQ is definitely more of a 3/4 length set up. If you're unsure about length, lie down next to a tape measure to get a feel for how this would fit you. I'm 5' 10" and it's just right, but I'll still need to sleep with a pillow and some socks. This quilt may be a little short for taller folks in cooler temps.