Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Any reviews of the mini Line Locks in the store?

I'm just getting into this, and I honestly don't understand the desire to use a ton of fancy knots and such. Maybe it's just the fun of learning a new way of doing things without hardware? Or saving some grams in weight?

I have 100' of 7/64" Amsteel Blue on the way.

The Mini Line Locks in the HF store look promising. I'm not sure if an ounce is worth the time and trouble these could save. Thanks for the input.

Also, can I use hardware like this to tie hammock supports, or are they just for guylines?

Thanks
    Last edited by JaynBoom; 05-05-2010 at 16:44.

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images
    I wouldn't use those for hammock suspensions. Most folks are not even comfortable using the super big figure 9's for their suspension. You might be able to get away with holding a 3mm amsteel blue or something like that but I wouldn't trust the ability to contain the forces exerted on the ropes. Weightwise the ropes would hold it but I would not trust the widgets.

I use a ring buckle system. There are any number of alternatives to the knots. Search the suspension forum and you'll more material than you can read in one sitting.
    I may be slow... But I sure am gimpy.

"Bless you child, when you set out to thread a needle don't hold the thread still and fetch the needle up to it; hold the needle still and poke the thread at it; that's the way a woman most always does, but a man always does t'other way."
    Mrs. Loftus to Huck Finn

We Don't Sew... We Make Gear! video series

Important thread injector guidelines especially for Newbies

Bobbin Tension - A Personal Viewpoint

Hammock
    DIY Pertex
    Tarp
    DIY with doors on
    Insulation
    Down and synthetic
    Suspension
    Whoopies & hooks
    Ive been using these for over a year with 1.5mm dyneema core.