WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    WB 0° Wooki +3oz
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles
    Images

Newbie gear questions

Hello hammock experts,

apologies in advance for the very long post: I'm new to the world of hammocking and although I spent the last week reading through this forum, I still have loads of questions with regards to the equipment.

I came across hammocks when looking for a lightweight tent and immediately liked the idea. I'm now trying to figure out which hammock is the best for my needs, and which upgrades I should get. In a couple of months, I will hopefully be starting a trip around the world, which will obviously cover a lot of different countries and climates.

My two main concerns with regards to hammock camping are/were:

a) I'm sceptical that it is possible to always find a place to hang the hammock. Since most people said they always managed to find somewhere, and because it's possible to use the hammock as a ground shelter, too, I decided to go with the hammock and hope for the best.

b) I need to sleep warm. I'm frequently cold when camping, and the problem apparently is worse with a hammock.

I have a couple of weeks for testing my gear before starting the trip, but it's not too much time, and I would prefer to work things out as much as I can before going, and order everything I need now. Money is not so much of an issue; I figure that I will be using the hammock so much, that it will pay for itself, really. I prefer to spend a bit more in the beginning and not having to bother with anything later on.

With regards to weight: of course I would like to keep weight and volume down as much as I can, but I'm not a weight weenie. If it makes the trip more enjoyable, I'd rather carry some extra weight.

With this in mind, could you help me with the following questions?

1. Hammock model