Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

permanent mounting advice needed

Hey guys...Yes I am a newbie! it is cool to see an entire site dedicated to hammocks..

I have done some searching and found the formulas for mounting distances and recommended angles of hammock..so I am looking for some help setting up my hammock in its permanent location. to be honest I do not have the time to learn the formulas and correct terminology and figured one of you could probably quote me the lengths off the top of your head!

I have a very large castle I built in the backyard for my kids and also built in mounts for the hammock. the mounts are 6 feet high and 15 feet apart.

I have a ENOS double and am am looking for guidance on the correct length for the slap straps to come up with the ideal angle of hammock. dont know if it matters but I am a bit under 6 feet and weigh about 205lbs.

I have no ability to raise the height of the mounts but I can lower them a few feet if necessary.

Thanks for the assistance...

Peace.....................................BartG

Hammock
    AHE 1.1 dbl
    Tarp
    AHE Shangi La
    Insulation
    KAQ Prototype
    Suspension
    AHE Whoopie Slings
    I have close to the same spacing in our upstairs that I use for my daily lounging. When you hang the using the slap straps and your eno you will get some (maybe a looooot) of stretch so you will be making adjustments no matter what length you start off with. because of the fixed height you have to work with start off with as much length on the straps as you can without the hammock on the ground. Get in and when you bottom out get out and move the straps up a notch or two repeat until you are up off the ground and have all of that time longing's stretch out of the set up. You will need to repeat the process some each time but once you know how much everything will stretch you can start at about the right spot to begin with.
    Arrowhead Equipment -- For all your hammock camping and backpacking gear