Images

newb to hanging, not to camping.

hello all, my name is matt. im 29, married with three wonderful children. a 4 and 2 year old daughter. and a 1 year old son. i am a mobile electronics installer going on 11 years.

ill only get to go camping once or twice a year without the fam. so that is when i will be using the hammock. so i really dont want to invest alot of money into it. so my real question is, will it be cheaper to just buy a henneseey or make my own. im 5'11" and 190- 200 lbs. its going to need to have a bug net. i do most of my camping in the spring through fall months. i live in missouri. the weather is always different. if i make my own. i can scavange a rain fly for a tarp from an old 8'x8' dome tent i no longer use. im not scared to use a sewing machine, so making one is not a problem as long as its cost effective.

thanks in advance
    matt

Hammock
    currently my DIY bridge
    Tarp
    8 x 10 sil tarp
    Insulation
    DIY tq,pads
    Suspension
    whoopie sling
    Welcome to the forum, tcr03. It is quite easy and cheap to make a DIY hammock, their are several sets of directions around, one is here on the forums, and another at Just Jeff's page.

Adding a bug net is harder. Though making or buying a tube that fits around the hammock can make that easier. Don't forget that you will also need some insulation under you in almost all conditions.

Images
    wouldnt a sleeping bag be enough insulation in the warmer weather. and whats hard about adding a bug net.

Hammock
    Speer Hammock IIIC
    Tarp
    Speer WinterTarp
    Insulation
    Speer SnugFit
    Suspension
    AHE whoopie slings

Welcome

Matt,

I can't say anything about the DIY approach other than to express envy of the abilities of those who go that route.