Images

whoopie sling question.

ok, i see how it works, i see how to make it. i think its a really neat idea. but couldn't you just use a taught line knot to do the same thing. also, whats the purpose of the back feeding of the end of the rope.

thanks in advance
    matt

Hammock
    DIY Bridge
    Tarp
    Etowah, gargoyle
    Insulation
    Wool, heater
    Suspension
    Varies
    Images
    The backsplice is to prevent the Amsteel from unbraiding itself.

I have no experience with a taught line hitch. I would think if it was easier and more reliable, it would be more widely used.

Images
    well its kind of like a prussik but with the end of the rope. it tightens as you put weight against it.

Hammock
    AHE 1.1 dbl
    Tarp
    AHE Shangi La
    Insulation
    KAQ Prototype
    Suspension
    AHE Whoopie Slings
    Hey Matt, On a body weight application a taught line hitch will probably not have enough friction to grab and hold. Especially in the teck ropes like amsteel that are very strong but light and are very slippery.

The back splice in the end is to fatten up the rope so that it will not be able to slide back though the bury and undo the sling. Just a simple way to create a stopper.
    Arrowhead Equipment -- For all your hammock camping and backpacking gear
    Arrowhead-Equipment.com Visit AHE on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Check out pictures on Instagram

Hammock
    G-Bird II/Bridge
    Tarp
    Ogee tarp
    Insulation
    DIY TQ DIY Down UQ
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Images
    Knots derate the rope (weaken it) Testing has proven that the splicing technique maintains the most original strength of rope.
    Try to follow the tutorial in the beginning of the whoopie thread and make one. Or buy one from Paul or Opie. actually buy two..