Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Hennessy A-Sym Zip

Sleeping Pad or no sleeping pad?

I saw that I should use my sleeping pad during the winter, but do I need it now? I am leaving for the AT, starting in Ga next week and bought a hennessy hammock at the last minute since my parter bailed on me. For the summer all I need is my sleeping bag and maybe sleeping pad, right? I am not sure how cold it will get, but when it starts to, what should be the first warm item I should be looking at- the outside quilts? I have never used a hammock before so any advice would be appreciated!

Hammock
    eno, hennessy hammock
    Insulation
    therm-a-rest pad
    dude bring a pad just in case, my underside gets cold at 65 degrees. uq is best but expensive. a thermarest is perfect in my hennessy just let a little air out so it wont shift so much n your good to go

Hammock
    eno, hennessy hammock
    Insulation
    therm-a-rest pad
    oh if you can set it up a few times before you hit the trail. the suspension on the hennessy can be a little difficult at first and getting the tension just right will take a few times to master.

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Hey NinjaPoo.....
    Bring a closed cell foam pad at least....
    I have a video series aimed at the new.... may give you some ideas: NinjaPoo's Hammock Primer
    Best to ya' and I envy your AT Adventure!!!!!
    Shug
    Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

Hammock
    Warbonnet BlackBird 1.1 Double
    Tarp
    Big Mamajamba
    Insulation
    Leigh's 3 Season
    Suspension
    adjustable webbing
    My full size Thermarest worked well for me. I do see how it could be a pain shifting on you unless you have a double layer hammock. But it still beats the ground.

Hammock
    HH Explorer ASYM
    Tarp
    Chinook
    Suspension
    WS, huggers, toggs