Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Suspension change for a noob

Hello all. This is my first post on this forum and I'm fairly new to hammocks.

I have an ENO with the slap straps so that is the only suspension I'm familiar with. After much reading on this forum I see that many people replace the stock suspension. I'm making the move and purchasing my first complete system, a Claytor Jungle Hammock. I've looked around for weeks and this one is the best fit for me.

I ran across the tread here about the webbing straps and replacing them. Is this something a noob could accomplish? I'm a little overwhelmed with the terminology and amount of available changes to make. A lot of people are also DIY using combination s it seems.

Is there a good place for step by step instructions to change it out? I don't have a sewing machine so I cant really make anything. I would like to order what I need at the same time as the hammock. What are some good systems for the Claytor Jungle?

I'm using this backpacking and kayaking in Florida.

Much appreciated

Hammock
    Varies
    Tarp
    GargoyleGear Ogee
    Insulation
    UQ-varies w/season
    Suspension
    Dutchgear
    Yes, it is easy, and no, you don't need to sew.

First, though, you need to decide whether you want a webbing/cinch buckle suspension or a cord based whoopie sling rig. Once you do that, talk to Paul @ AHE, and he'll fix you up.

I've made this change on my Claytor, and will be glad to walk you through it.
    Dave

"Loneliness is the poverty of self; solitude is the richness of self."~~~May Sarton