Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eno tearing?

Unhappy Eno tearing?

Hi all, I'm new to hammock camping and very excited about it. I recently purchased an Eno Doublenest and suspended it using ratchet straps around trees to try it out. I hung it just below chest height and sat into it as instructed. I'm 5' 11 and weigh about 230. As I began to position myself to get comfortable I heard a ripping sound coming from the stitching. I got out and inspected to find all the stitching in tact but the pin hole size tears just below the triple stitching. This surprised me since it is designed for two people and is rated at 400lbs. I returned it and got a single nest and a set of slap strap pros to give it another try. I the exact same results. Is this a product defect or am I doing something wrong? Other than this I really like the hammock but now I'm wary about buying any hammock being they are a little pricey.

Hammock
    DIY Speer-type
    Tarp
    modded SG 12' x12'
    Insulation
    CCF and DAM
    Suspension
    whoopie slings
    Images
    I know that this sounds stupid, but is there anything on your person that could cause a rip to start? Keys, belt knife, cell phone, anything?
    "Interesting! No, wait, the other thing.....tedious!"- Bender Bending Rodriques

Hammock
    warbonnet blackbird, eno doublenest
    Tarp
    oes,warbonnet
    Insulation
    yeti/incubator
    Suspension
    whoopie sling AHE
    maybe 1 but 2, i had my eno 6yrs and not one sign of wear and mine has been used by the dog for the last 2 yrs, no holes no tears.
    i do not remember the question, however i believe beer is the answer

Hammock
    Varies
    Tarp
    GargoyleGear Ogee
    Insulation
    UQ-varies w/season
    Suspension
    Dutchgear
    This sounds like what I experienced.

When bagged and compressed, the hammock can force the carabiner gates open a bit, resulting in bite marks in the fabric.