Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Banks of the Amite River, Port Vincent, Louisiana
    Hammock
    HH Explorer Deluxe Zip
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Suspension
    Prussik Grabber

Smile Hey guys I'm so new my HH Explorer Deluxe hasn't arrived yet.

Hello from the steamy bayous of Louisiana.
    I just made the typical NEWBE mistake of buying without trying. I ordered a HH Explorer Deluxe Zip without even trying one out first. I also exchanged for the big 70D hex tarp. I guess I should have sprang for the silnylon to save a few ounces. I go 6'4" and 270 so who is counting ounces. I was also considering the Clark NX-250. But it was an extra $200 and I haven't tried on of those either. I read a few of the topics here and made my decision based on them. If you can believe that!!! If this HH isn't what I'm after then I'll hand it down to my teenage boys. They can make use of it I'm sure.

I've been backpacking and tent camping of and on for a few decades now. First with really heavy Army gear and other crap that I assembled. Slowly I've gotten some better gear together. Still trying to get my pack into the sub 30# range. Maybe this HH will help? My tent weighs about 5 lbs so I ain't saving but maybe a pound. It's all about comfort right?
    My second to last backpacking trip was one where I slept on two bad slopes on two consective nights. Right then I wanted a hammock. Well I'm going to give this new world a try.
    I did manage to sleep in a hammock a few times in the army. I had a green mesh nylon one that I would stretch between two trees or vehicles. I put my OD Green sleeping bag in it, crawled in and was pretty comfy. You couldn't lay in that thing without the bag though because the thin nylon webbing would cut into your skin. I'm into a lot more comfort now in my 40's that when I was 20. Hopefully this HH is better that that PX job was.

Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird 1.7
    Tarp
    Zpacks Cuben Fiber
    Insulation
    Leigh's UQ
    Suspension