Tarp
    HG Cuben
    Insulation
    Incubator & Burrow
    Suspension
    Whoopies/MSH/strap
    Images

Basic Newbie questions and concepts

I am new to hanging. So new, in fact that I have so many questions that I don't even know how to begin. First, I have not found any local hanging resources, so I am truly ignorant and really don’t understand basic hanging concepts. With that in mind, please be patient with me. Some of these questions imply an opinionated response, but I am really looking for concepts rather than preference. Here goes:

What is the advantage of a diagonal lay, and how “flat” is “flat”?

What is a bridge hammock?

What is meant by “ridgeline”? Is that a reference to a “ridge line” (rope strung from attachment points with a tarp across), the reinforced stitching of a tarp or hammock, or am I completely off base here?

I have many more questions to ask, but I feel I need to get these concepts down before I ask too much.

Thanks.
    “Indian builds small fire and stays warm, white man builds big fire and stays warm collecting firewood”—unknown

“The cure for anything is salt water - sweat, tears, or the sea”—Karen Blixen

Hammock
    DW netless/JS Full net
    Tarp
    Hex
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 40
    Suspension
    Dutch buckle/strap
    Hey Buffalo,

Welcome to the group. I am also a new guy, but will take a stab at your questions.

A diagonal lay will provide the user with a flatter lay, so as to not be in a "banana configuration" or to also eliminate being wrapped in a cocoon.

How flat you get depends on how much sag you hang your rig with. You will get more detailed info on that I'm sure.

A bridge hammock is a sweet little rig that promotes a flat lay. It has spreader bars and a "three point" style suspension. I know that may be confusing, but it's how I first learned to seperate that style. I lean towards the bridge as I am a large guy.

Ridgeline: