Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What am i doing wrong?

Just started using my sewing machine to make stuff sacks...etc.
    I have never touched anything related to sewing until a few days ago so I am a total noob.
    When I get to the end of a seam, raise the foot, and remove the fabric to the rear of the machine, cut the thread and leave 5" or so of excess on the machine, I have to re-thread my top thread on the machine almost every time. Any ideas what I may be doing wrong? I am using an "invisible" polyester thread that looks good on the seams, but is a pain to re-thread all the time.
    Thanks for your help!

Hammock
    DIY (various)
    Tarp
    DIY 5x10 pseudocat
    Insulation
    GI+
    Suspension
    UCR custom
    Images
    I assume the thread is pulling back when you start stitching and not when you cut the thread. Just need to hold the thread tails at the start of each line of stitching, until the first couple of stitches grab. If it's pulling back immediately after the cut, though, just make sure there's very little tension on the threads at the time you make the cut.

Edit: FWIW, I always press the threads against the presser plate with my left index finger while the first couple of stches grab, and often also start those stitches manually, i.e., turning the wheel by hand.
    - Frawg

{generic tagline}

Hammock
    DIY,WBBB,DutchBridge
    Tarp
    Cuben,Superfly
    Insulation
    Quilts :P
    Suspension
    Dutchware
    Quote Originally Posted by Frawg View Post
    I assume the thread is pulling back when you start stitching and not when you cut the thread. Just need to hold the thread tails at the start of each line of stitching, until the first couple of stitches grab. If it's pulling back immediately after the cut, though, just make sure there's very little tension on the threads at the time you make the cut.