Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie deciding on which hammock

Hi everyone, I'm really new to both these forums and hammocking. I was hoping to get some help on which hammock to get.

http://forums.backpacker.com/eve/for...9/m/1501049263

There's where I started but I'll summarize my ideas here. I started looking at the Clark but then everyone kinda seemed to recommend HH so I checked them out. I liked that they were lighter and cheaper and especially liked the A-sym b/c people have told me (just hearsay so please set me straight if need be) that sleeping in a hammock for extended periods of time can do a number on your back and everything. Anyway, I live in Boulder, CO so the majority of my hiking is going to be in the Rockies so I needed some sort of cold weather system. I added up prices and weights for how I think I'd actually have a Hennessy set up and got this:
    w/ undercover and underpad: 3.625 lbs and $370
    w/ underquilt: 3.5625 lbs and $465

Not bad when I compared them to other sleep options, especially for the comfort. I was just about ready to buy one though and someone directed me here. I read around and started looking at the Clark again because people seemed to have more faith in their insulation then I did. If I can truly get away with just the hammock and a closed cell pad then the Clark comes in at 3.5625 lbs and $303. Only thing is that if it ever was warm enough for the Hennessy without all that insulation stuff I'd be just over 2 lbs when I don't have that option with the Clark.

So anyway, I feel like I'm back to the drawing board and could use some help. I don't know anyone with a hammock to try it out first so I was thinking that I could get the Hennessy from REI and return it if I needed to but I'd have to buy the insulation separately and then I don't have REI's return policy to fall back on. Plus, I read somewhere here that Clark has a similar return policy and I could try it "risk-free."