Tarp
    HG 4S Cuben Baby !
    Insulation
    Phoenix's&Burrow's
    Suspension
    Dynaglide Whoopies
    Images

Hammock backpacking gear list for a few days in the bush

I loaded my pack up for the first hammock camping 2 day trip hunting next weekend. I’m new to the hammock backpacking thing so I weighed it to see where I was at.

The trip will be a hunting trip with a dawn departure from the car, trek off for two days spending one night in the bush and returning to the car around dark on the 2nd day. Terrain will be timbered mountains with elevation changes of around 700 meters. The weather this weekend in the same area has been from 3∘C to 26∘C.

The list doesn’t include hunting equipment like rifle, bino’s x 2, tripod, rangefinder, ammo, knife etc. My guess is that will add another 6-7 kg’s of gear.

Total weight for the following items was 9.5 kgs. (33.5 lbs)

Is that heavy or light for a few days in the bush ???
    Reading online about sub 10 lbs backpackers, how do you achieve that ??, looking at what I need I already have 3 kgs (10lbs) of just water let alone all the other stuff like shelter, food, clothing etc.
    I think I have the actual hammock gear down pretty light with what I have.
    You look at all the gear by itself and you think, great that’s really light, add it all together and it’s a different story.

• Badlands Diablo pack (1900ci)
    • 3 litre osprey hydraulics water bladder (with 2.5 litres in it).
    • 500ml of water in a platypus soft bottle.
    • Optimus Crux Lite cooker & pot set with 100gm fuel canister.
    • 4 x freeze dried meals.
    • Latte coffee sachets x 3 + some small sugar sachets.
    • 4 x assorted energy type bars.
    • 150 gram’s of mixed nuts and dried fruit (trail mix).
    • Assorted first aid gear and basic hygiene stuff ie: small amount of toilet paper, 10 wet wipes, water purifying tablets, etc.
    • Large Gore-Tex rain jacket/coat, thigh length.