HH Explorer deluxe,1.1dbl WB
    Tarp
    JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    pad, 3season nest
    Suspension
    straps/whoopies

noob here in need of advice

Hey guys, great site ,lots of great info. I just received my first hammock, HH explorer deluxe. Last night I set it for a test run in the back yard, got settled and within a few min the back of my knees began hurting. I adjusted according to various posts on knee hyper-extension that Ive found and still cant get comfortable. I put in my girlfriends rei inflatable pad inside and laying on it, it seemed to help.(guess it flattened out the fabric?)I really dont want to sleep with something like a stuff sack or pillow under my knees so im asking, go with a pad,adjust my ridge line, or sell the HH and try a wbbb? The pad I used is tapered at the foot end, if the answer is pad which shape?? Tapered or Square?
    thanks in advance

Hammock
    Most
    Tarp
    Sea to Summit
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    Becket Hitch
    Images
    When I've used pads, I found that rounding corners, or shaping them helps them to stay in the hammock, but I agree that they can be a nuisance. I used my inflatable pad a few times, and yes it can help to flatten out the hammock a bit.

I don't like having something under my knees either, partly because I sometimes shift to my side and it's a pain to keep everything situated.

I would try different positions for your legs. I find that through the night my legs will shift from crossing, to one leg bent at the knee, or both knees bent and turn to the side. Sometimes switching which legs are crossed on top can help too.

I think most end-gathered hammocks have this situation, in part because they have limited width. Wider hammocks allow you to get much flatter with less tension on your legs. But, those hammocks are also heavier and require more room, etc. I think the knee issue is one that most people deal with to take advantage of the other benefits of camping hammocks.

Hammock