Warbonnet Blackbird
    Tarp
    OES MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    HG 0° Bur/Inc
    Suspension
    WB stock AWS

Hanger Wannabe from NH

Hi all, I'm brand new to Hammock Forums. I intend to become a hanger. I don't have a hammock as of yet, but am leaning toward a Warbonnet Blackbird double layer 1.7 since it seems to have such rave reviews here. I'm also considering an OES MacCat Ultra silnylon tarp w/doors and an AHE Kick *** New River UQ (possibly w/a 4-season upgrade). I have not determined suspension yet. If there are any experienced veteran hammock folks in NH, I'd love to get together, possibly try a hammock out, actually see how it's hung, etc.

I have been planning a NOBO Appalachian Trail thru-hike for February 1, 2012 with an acquaintance, but she just dropped out. I'm looking for a new female hiking buddy. I do plan to start February 1st because my intent is to make it to Katahdin before September 1st so I can jump right into grad school. I realize it's an early start. If you're an interested female or know a female who is, please contact me (I am on White Blaze, too).

Hammock
    DIY bridge hammock
    Tarp
    OES/WB Superfly
    Insulation
    Incubator/Burrow
    Suspension
    WB Straps
    Images
    Welcome from a former NH-er. Not up in the Whites, but beautiful country up there. You've got a great list of gear on your wish list. Don't think you could go wrong with any of it. Suspension = you'll see a lot of people use poly straps with a marlin spike hitch to whoopie slings. Lightweight, super strong and effective. Like anything, it's all personal preference. Check out all the cottage shops here - again, you can't go wrong with any of them. Enjoy all that HF has to offer.
    Syb
    Enjoy the elevation

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Lib View Post