Hammock
    ENO SingleNest
    Tarp
    Urenylon 10'x10'

Questions about sewing

Hey all, just another noob with questions here that have probably been asked a million times.

Anywhoosles, I am new to this stuff, got up the gumption to order some whoopie slings and some webbing the other day, which I am still waiting on. However, when the webbing gets here, I will have to do some sewing to put some loops in that webbing once it is cut to size, and that is where my problem starts. First off, is there a specific kind of thread that I need to be using for this? I imagine I need to be using something robust like the Spectra thread I have from County Comm. Or is there a different recommended type of thread that would work?

Then, once I get me some thread, the actual sewing has to happen. Is there a guide to making the loops strong enough, or is it just a wing it and hope for the best kind of thing? I am assuming (which we all know how that usually works out) that a box with an x in it type of pattern will work, but if not it would be better to find out beforehand and not after the fact.

And that is it. I figure with those two things knocked out I will be on my way to hanging heaven and all I will need after that is a couple of toggles. So, any suggestions people?

Thanks,

Derek

Hammock
    Lite Owl; Light Hiker
    Tarp
    Toxaway;MacCat Dlx
    Insulation
    Burrow; Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Use good polyester thread (not polyester wrapped but full poly). The box with the X in it is what I use and never had a problem.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 SL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    WB and UGQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies or Straps
    Images
    4 or 5 parallel bar tack stitches about an inch apart is what all my webbing has. As JaxHiker said, polyester thread.
    Don't let life get in the way of living.

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle