WBBB
    Tarp
    DIY Cuben fiber
    Insulation
    DYI UQ/TQ Down
    Suspension
    whoopee sling

Tarp Tie outs

I'm going to make a tarp, and am going to use 7/64 amsteal instead of webbing for the tie outs. Its !/4 the weight of webbing and I think the conection is strong enough. I have done a test corner and put 50 lb. on it. I then bounced it up and down and no tear outs. I would have put more weight on it but I only have 2 25lb bumd bells. I have never used at tarp before, and would like to know if this will be strong enough in the day to day weather?

Hammock
    HH Deep Jungle XL
    Tarp
    Hex Fly / Stock HH
    Insulation
    3SBurrow/Incubator
    Suspension
    WS's/ET's
    Amsteel is waaaaaaay overkill for tie outs in my opinion. Something like zing it or mason line would be better suited for the job, and much cheaper. I don't think I've seen any webbing tie outs on the forum and I really don't know why one would use webbing. Maybe you're confusing tie outs with ridgeline? I'm sure somebody more experienced than I will chime in and clear it up!

Good luck on your tarp and please be sure to post some pictures of your new toy!

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    DIY Cuben fiber
    Insulation
    DYI UQ/TQ Down
    Suspension
    whoopee sling
    When I say tie outs I meant where you attach the ridge line, and the line to stake the cornere. Every one I have seeen is made out of webbing. I made a test corner out of each and then weighed them. Webbing was 8 gr. and amsteal was 1.8 gr. Next I tested for the load. I only have the 50 lb. and both seemed to do OK. I'm just not sure if test is adiquite. I knoe the 7 grs. per tie out is not a lote, but with 8 tie outs its over 2 oz. I was just wanting to get others opinions.

Hammock
    DH, WBBB, Dutch, DIY
    Tarp
    HG, WBSF, UGQ
    Insulation
    HG, LLG
    Suspension
    Whoopie Hooks