Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Introduction and a Couple of Questions

Greetings to everyone and thanks for a great forum!

My name is Joel and I'm a Lutheran pastor in Marquette, Michigan, and also a kayak designer/manufacturer/owner of Black Dog Kayaks. I've always been a DIY kind of guy and it's been fun taking some of my DIY ideas to the market. The NoBucks name goes back to my Jeepster days and Project No Bucks, building my '68 Jeepster on a budget. I still have the Jeepster, just no time to work on it lately.

I was introduced to hammock camping last year when we sponsored Kayak 4 A Kure, a couple of guys who kayaked the length of the Mississippi River in our tandem 21 foot skin-on-frame kayak. Speer Hammocks also sponsored them and they slept in hammocks most of the way down the River, and I caught the hammock bug from them.

Being a DIY kind of guy, I want to make my own bridge hammock for an upcoming kayak expedition either to Pictured Rocks, near Munising, Michigan, or, to the Apostle Islands in Northern Wisconsin (maybe both, if we can talk our wives into it). I'm not bad at sewing and my wife is our seamstress at Black Dog Kayaks and also works for a local canvas shop, so we can handle any sewing that's required to make a hammock.

Now, to my questions:

Question #1: I'm 6'10" tall and am wondering how much fabric I need to buy for the body of my hammock following GrizzlyAdams' excellent guide to making a bridge hammock? At 82.5 inches tall, I'm 2.5 inches taller than the total length of the hammock in the guide. I see that Grizz is 6'1" tall, so would it work if I just add 9 or 10 inches to the total length?

Question #2: At 240 lbs, will 1.9 oz fabric be strong enough for me? I found some 1.9 oz desert night camo ripstop at Wal-Mart for $3/yd. If not, I can order stronger fabric from one of our fabric suppliers, but the cost more than doubles.