DIY Warbird
    Tarp
    Guide Gear 12'x12'
    Insulation
    15* down bag & pad
    Suspension
    whoopies

Gathered-end Difficulties

Hello all! I am quite new to laying in a gathered-end hammock. I recently finished a DIY version a la Knotty's tutorial, and have been trying to get comfortable in it. So far I've had minimal and completely random success in getting flat/comfortable. I've read through many threads about asym lay, ridgeline length, etc., so I'm getting a little frustrated. Let me give you all some more specifics; the hammock body is made from ~1.8 ripstop from Joann's and measures 140" x 58". I measure 6'6" and weigh 170 lbs, so I am not new to having problems finding a good gear/clothing fit for my freakish nature.

So far I've fiddled around with ridgeline lengths of 114", 116"(~83%), and 118", with most success at the longer end. My main gripe thus far has been a lack of comfort in my knees/lower legs/feet. Even when I feel like I've located a sweet spot, after a while I start to feel pain from knee hyper-extension. Also, I can't seem to avoid having my feet and lower legs mashed into each other, which makes my heels/ankles sore after a while...this seems kind of unavoidable due to the nature of the design.

I feel like I am very close to a break-through in comfort, but think I need a little encouragement and/or critique. The picture shows my hammock hanging inside my living room from eye screws in my wall studs; I think I have the whoopie suspension pretty close to the 30* mark. The two eye screws are mounted at the same height, so perhaps I could get a little more comfort by raising the foot end? From what I understand, this mostly helps with the sliding up/down effect, which I'm not having an issue with. Would a longer or wider hammock offer me more "wiggle room" for achieving flatness? When laying asym, my feet and head are pretty close to the edge, if not almost ready to fall over.