Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    WB 0° Wooki +3oz
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles
    Images

Hanging in the rain...

Up to now I have been pretty lucky and almost always had dry weather while setting up my hammock. But recently, it has become a lot more rainy. Usually I hang the hammock first, ensure that the angles are right etc., and then I put up the tarp. I'm still an amateur with regards to hammocking, so I spend quite some time gettting it right. No problem in fair weather - but not good if it's raining.

Are there any tricks for setting up while it's raining? How can I make sure that the tarp is in the right place? Even with getting up the tarp over the hammock already hanging, I often have to readjust. Also my ridgeline often slips if I set it up with the "v" so it doesn't get in the way of the suspension.

Hammock
    Eno, HH, DIY
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Winter Incubator
    Suspension
    whoopies
    I saw this earlier today and now see that there are no replies.

I'll confess that in my short hanging career, I've not set up in the rain...
    But from what I've read (and common camping sense) I'd for sure set up the tarp first (as centered as possible between the trees) and then set up the hammock at my leisure underneath that.

I've set up both enough times that I'd have a pretty good idea how high to set the tarp...

Hammock
    Clark n150
    Tarp
    el cheepo
    Insulation
    figuring it out
    Suspension
    ropes/drip rings
    Images
    I hate setting up in the rain. Hiking in it is tolerable but setting up and packing up in the rain is just not fun. If it is just about to rain it isn't so bad, set up the tarp and put your gear under first then wearing rain gear you can take your time with your hammock and quilts etc. Its nice to have at least dry ground under you in a rain storm if you can get set up before or early in a storm.