Tarp
    DIY Winter Tarp
    Insulation
    Jarbridge UQ, Sock
    Suspension
    Whoopie, MSH
    Images

hammocking in the western states

Seems hammocking is not very popular in the western states. Is this my imagination? Why aren't more people into hanging. I am new to this and I wanted to try it at Big Basin Redwoods state park and the Ranger told me hammocking is not allowed, only tents. He didn't give a reason..just not allowed. What's up with that?

Hammock
    Warbonnet ON!
    Tarp
    SuperFly or MacCat
    Insulation
    Yetis & Mambas
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images
    State Parks in general have a reputation for not being hammock friendly. Look to the National Parks and Forests.
    Trust nobody!

Hammock
    Warbonnet Traveler
    Tarp
    Z-Packs Cuben
    Insulation
    Warbonnet TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    whoopie + toggle
    In terms of Big Basin: Living close by, I empathize with the frustration of not being able to hammock camp there. I had the same experience at nearby Butano State Park.

I think it’s a pretty challenging campground management/conservation issue: a staggering number of people camp in these parks every year, especially Big Basin. And the Redwood trees are delicate, often ancient treasures. If just one person hammocks using a wire or a thin line, the bark of the tree gets damaged, potentially lethally, spoiling the campground for other folks, potentially for a century+. So the park service, at least in these two campgrounds, can't categorically say “yes” to hammocking because there is so much variation in how it can be done, from zero detectable impact to extremely harmful. They have needed to start by saying “no” but hopefully their policies can evolve to where they have designated trees in designated sites with strict rules on using appropriate tree hugger webbing (perhaps even require a permit to make sure folks know how to practice low impact hanging).