Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Hammock
    Mine. Te-Wa/MikeinAZ Custom job!
    Tarp
    OES Deluxe
    Insulation
    Te-Wa/MikeinAZ UQ

My first night out is tomorrow. Quick question

I am taking my new HH Expedition out for it's maiden voyage tomorrow night (probably today for most people reading this...unless you're up late like me). I am still a little confused on the sleeping pad aspect of hammocking. Am I understanding correctly that most people use a sleeping pad for warmth more than comfort? I have two different varieties of sleeping pad, I have the inflatable Thermarest, and I also have the folding (accordion style) Thermarest Z-Lite. The temperature is going to be a low of 48-52 and I have a Marmot Fusion 15 degree synthetic down mummy bag. My question is...should I one of my Thermarests, or do I just go with the bag in the hammock...no pad? Thanks for the advice, hopefully I come back well rested full of praise for my new hammock!

Hammock
    JRB Bear Mtn. Bridge
    Tarp
    BlackCat/JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    Pad(s)/JRB Quilts
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Dirt4dinner View Post
    I am taking my new HH Expedition out for it's maiden voyage tomorrow night (probably today for most people reading this...unless you're up late like me). I am still a little confused on the sleeping pad aspect of hammocking. Am I understanding correctly that most people use a sleeping pad for warmth more than comfort? I have two different varieties of sleeping pad, I have the inflatable Thermarest, and I also have the folding (accordion style) Thermarest Z-Lite. The temperature is going to be a low of 48-52 and I have a Marmot Fusion 15 degree synthetic down mummy bag. My question is...should I one of my Thermarests, or do I just go with the bag in the hammock...no pad? Thanks for the advice, hopefully I come back well rested full of praise for my new hammock!
    Most folks need some bottom insulation in temps below 65-75°