Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
    Images

Tent to Hammock conversion questions.

I'm very strongly considering a hammock for backcountry camping, but I have a few questions I can't seem to find answers to. Any help is appreciated.

1) I have a 35-degree ems velocity sleeping bag and a closed cell pad. I will be in NH white mountains 3-seasons. Will these keep me warm in a hennesy hammock?? How warm vs a tent in these conditions?

2) The alternate would be a velocity 1 UL tent. Does anyone know whether the small tent or hammock would be easier to find locations with in the white mountains? Hammocks seem easier in general, but does anyone have white mountain experience?

3) What do I do with my pack, shoes, etc? I don't think they'd go in the hammock, and even under the tarp they'd get wet on the ground would they not? My pack is about 25-30 pounds, gregory z55.

4) Can mosquitos bite through the hammock material? Probably not in a bag on a pad, but lounging during the evening for instance?

I'm on a low budget (around $200), and research seems to point to the hennesy hammock for $150 or the velocity 1 tent for $200 on sale right now. The tent would hold my pack and might provide ground insulation from the air (if it is needed as questioned above). The hammock is more comfortable on the back and smaller packed I believe.

They are about the same packed weight and both ultra simple to setup. So I'm primarily debating between the two based on the terrain and weather in NH...

Hammock
    LeanGreen/BigRed/DIY
    Tarp
    CatCut Hex/GG12
    Insulation
    Fur I grow myself
    Suspension
    Of Disbelief
    Images
    While I can't speak for the White Mountains in particular I can lend some answers to the general questions.

Yes Hammocks are more comfortable than sleeping on the ground in a tent, any day. YMMV