Thread: Leg Comfort

Leg Comfort

As you can see I'm brand new here. I'm also brand new to hammocking.

My experience with hammocks is limited to that of some various generic (no brand name, that is) hammocks sold on the road in Mexico.

Overall these are very comfortable, except for one thing: My legs hurt like the dickens. I find myself waking up many times at night to stretch my legs or fold them up for some temporary relief.

The problem, I think, is that my legs just don't have enough space (and horizontality) to move around at night; they're pinned in a narrow confining space.

It seems fairly simple to me to have a hammock design that pulls tension from a point closer to my butt and then has a secondary set of tension wires to hold up a "leg box" that is large and fairly horizontal with the ground.

Question: What kinds of hammock am I looking for? Is this related to "asymmetrical" hammocks?

I had a similar problem with leg soreness when I started out. My solution in a HH was to make sure the foot end of my hammock was at least 8-10 inches above the head end regardless of ground level. I have read many explanations and support for this theory wether in a hammock or selecting tent location.

Hammock
    DIY Stretch-Side
    Tarp
    DIY Cat Cut Hex
    Insulation
    Phoenix and Nest
    Suspension
    cinch buckles
    Images
    Another thing that helps some is to use a pillow under your knees to avoid hyperextension but not sure if that's you're problem.

"Asymetric" hammocks like the Hennessy are actually symmetrical hammock bodies with side pullouts that are spaced asymmetrically. Helps make things feel a little more roomy.
    Knotty
    "Don't speak unless it improves the silence." -proverb
    DIY Gathered End Hammock
    DIY Stretch-Side Hammock
    Stretch-Side "Knotty Mod"
    DIY Bugnet

Hammock
    WBBB Dbl 1.7
    Tarp
    BigMambaJamba w/po
    Insulation
    3s BM & Incubator
    Suspension
    straps