Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Want to Hammock on the AT with wife

Wife and I are going to do the 95 mile section of the AT from Fontana Lake to the NC/GA border. In mid Sept. I would like to try to hammock as sleeping on rocks and uneven ground is not appealing. Wife is hesitant to sleep alone. Can we do a tandom, or double up under one rain cover?? May sound funny but I'm new to the Hammock world. Always tented it.
    Also what kinds do you recommend. ENO is the only one we have in town

Thanks

I've set two up in a configuration where the head side of both hammocks is using the same tree, but the feet are going to different trees, and it has worked out pretty well. I'd take two tarps, rainy and any unseasonally windy/chilly nights would be quite awful without a tarp to break the weather on the side.

Side note about that section, if I remember correctly, Mt. Albert will be right after you folks pass through Franklin headed south. The view at the weather tower is breathtaking, but when I ascended it (your decent), it was extremely steep and rocky, definitely will be an interesting decent, be careful!

Hammock
    blackbird
    Tarp
    Hammock Gear
    Insulation
    yeti
    Suspension
    web/cinchbuckle/DC
    Images
    [QUOTE=calcmuzzy;504928]I've set two up in a configuration where the head side of both hammocks is using the same tree, but the feet are going to different trees, and it has worked out pretty well. I'd take two tarps, rainy and any unseasonally windy/chilly nights would be quite awful without a tarp to break the weather on the side.

Agree with cal, bring 2 tarps for the reason stated. I did that section in the fall and I had trouble finding water last year. Maybe someone can chime in about the water conditions for this year. Albert Mtn. is worth the climb, but as I recall, we wanted to rename Big Butt Mtn

Hammock
    Hennesy
    Tarp
    various
    Insulation
    pads, foam
    Images