Tarp
    CatCut Hex/GG12
    Insulation
    Fur I grow myself
    Suspension
    Of Disbelief
    Images

Space Blanket UQ

So I've read of people using a space blanket under the hammock with a UQP or even a UQ or pad. What I'm wondering has anyone sewed one of the more durable space blankets directly into the UQ. I'm thinking something along the lines of:
    Code:
    Inner layer
    Space blanket
    Insulation
    Outer layer
    I'm no thermodynamics expert, but my thinking is that one could get away with a good deal less insulation as the space blanket would be reflecting radiant heat back towards the user and since they are waterproof it would also serve as a vapor barrier therefore raising the effective temperature even further. Perhaps one could decrease the amount of loft needed for insulation by an inch or more?

I do also realize that the added weight of the durable space blankets means that this is purely a theoretical excerise as who wants to add nearly another pound to their UQ just to remove a few ounces? But I was curious. Does anyone else think it would work effectively? Any of our resident geniuses care to do the math and dumb it down as much as possible for those of us who use a calculator to figure out how much to tip at a restraunt?
    *Heaven best have trees, because I plan to lounge for eternity.

Good judgement is the result of experience and experience the result of bad judgement. - Mark Twain

Trail name: Radar

2014 Smoked Butt Hang Planning Thread | Sign up Sheet

Hammock
    Hennessy Expedition Zip
    Tarp
    Arrowhead Toxaway
    Insulation
    Wilderness Logics
    Suspension
    DIY whoopie slings
    Interesting idea, but my first thought is that it would add weight and make laundering difficult. I would just add a space blanket as needed. They do help.

Columbia is using some reflective fabrics in some of their clothing. Maybe you could buy something similar.