Hammock
    HH Expedition Asym
    Tarp
    Stock HH tarp

KAQ Design with IX

I am working on my first DIY project for my HH Expedition...an underquilt. I am going to be using IX as the insulation and only one side (the underside) will be lined with 1.1 ripstop. My design is based off of the KAQ design in the articles section.

Since I couldn't find any threads for someone who has done a KAQ with IX, I decided to merge the basic KAQ design with the IX design found here.

Below is the resulting design. This is just the basic cutting patterns, not the details such as shock cord channels, etc. This is my first attempt at doing any gear design...so please point out issues.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hammock
    It's a Secret.
    Tarp
    BWDD Winter Dream
    Insulation
    Crowsnest
    Suspension
    Slings
    Images
    Looks really good.

One note on the shell - it should be built to the exact same specs as the layer of IX it goes against. I wouldn't recommend making it any smaller or larger - use the same dimensions and the same darts. W/o the darts you could be squishing layers.

Beyond that, it looks really good. I can't wait to see pics of the final product!
    DIY Gear Supply - Your source for DIY outdoor gear.

Hammock
    HH Expedition Asym
    Tarp
    Stock HH tarp
    Thanks for the reply and suggestions.

So are you saying that I should add a pair of darts to the liner in order to match it up completely with the IX layers? If so, would the design work better with a 32" width on the head/foot ends with a 2" dart on each end, the same as the top IX layer.

Thanks,
    Patrick

Hammock
    It's a Secret.
    Tarp
    BWDD Winter Dream
    Insulation
    Crowsnest
    Suspension
    Slings
    Images
    Yes, make any shell layer to the exact specs of the corresponding IX layer.
    DIY Gear Supply - Your source for DIY outdoor gear.

Hammock
    TX250, NX200, WBBB
    Tarp
    WBSF, Edge, Vertex
    Insulation
    Incu-Burrow!
    Suspension