Tarp
    Kelty 9x9
    Insulation
    DIY Poncho/GoLite
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckle Strap
    Images

Do I Need A Tarp Ridgeline?

I'm new to the whole hammock thing and learning as I go. Sorry I have posted this in the wrong place but................I have a question which I am sure folks here can help me with.

I use a Kelty 9x9 tarp over my WBBB and tie off each end with separate lines using knot bones. Do I need a ridge-line hung from tree to tree to hang the tarp over or can I just tie it off on the tarp loops? Will the top of the tarp "sag" during the night from moisture or dew without a ridge-line?

I do know I need shock cord for the ground tie-offs to absorb flexing tension but is it also necessary for the ridge-line?

I'm looking for the best, easiest to set up, fastest and most compact method for pitching my tarp.

Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelp!!!

Thank you
    ~Adventure Before Dementia~

Hammock
    1.9 SL DIY gathered end
    Tarp
    GuideGear12x12
    Insulation
    DIY Kmart UQ 550FP
    Suspension
    Whoopie
    I have a full ridgeline, but many just tie off the ends. I think tieing off the ends will meet all of the objectives you listed

Hammock
    Speer DIY, WBBB
    Tarp
    HG Cuben
    Insulation
    WB Yeti, DIY TQ
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckles
    Tying off the ends is fine - many folks (including myself) don't use a continuous ridgeline. Check out

Also, you don't necessarily need to use shock cord for the tie outs, though you certainly can if you want. There are a lot of options - you can use simple mason's line from the hardware store, spectra cord (http://zpacks.com/accessories/spectra_cord.shtml, etc.

Welcome to the addiction....
    - Norm

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 DL Lefty
    Tarp
    HG Cuben 4S
    Insulation
    HG Incu-Burrow
    Suspension
    War Buckle
    Images
    I also tie each end separately, using Dutch's tarp flyz on each end, works great!

Hammock
    DIY GE
    Tarp
    12'x9'
    Insulation
    DIY IX UQ