Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noob Alert!

Noob Alert!

Since this is my first year at the hammock camping thing, and it's REALLY starting to grow on me, I'm looking to bring my mountain bike up (assuming the weather holds) to Grand Island in michigan's U.P. The idea is to explore as much as I can over the weekend, and take lots of pictures (bringing my heavy-as-sin d90, so the weight savings of the hammock is key). Forecast is currently calling for a 40 degree clear, crispy night, and I have the following at my disposal:

sleeping bag: http://www.amazon.com/Suisse-Sport-A.../dp/B001TR7QZA nice WARM synthetic bag, was too warm to sleep with it fully closed a few weeks ago when it only dipped into the low to mid 50s (slept in my hammock of course)

sleeping bag liner:
    http://www.amazon.com/Slumberjack-Sl...7182341&sr=1-1
    I'm a warm sleeper and have been known to sweat like a pig at night, I used just this when I did my first solo overnight hammock trip, temps stayed well into the 60s the whole night, and I was sufficiently warm, though I did pitch my tarp pretty low to the ground that night.

pad uno:
    http://www.backcountry.com/stoic-ltw...ng-pad-regular
    got this for a steal when it was on steep and cheap, so I couldn't refuse. doesn't like to stay put in a hammock, but it does fit in my sleeping bag

pad numero 2:
    http://www.amazon.com/Wenzel-Convolu...7182500&sr=1-2
    nice and wide, and the waffle cut should help it conform to the hammock a bit... also fits inside the bag, but because of the width (24") things seem to get a little bit claustrophobic.

What say you? I'd rather not bring it ALL, but is there a combination of stuff here you'd use for the forecast / location?

Hammock
    WB BBXLC and DIY
    Tarp
    UP
    Insulation
    DOWN
    Suspension
    30 DEGREES